• Email
  • Print

Election Information

Municipal Election

The City of Carlsbad's next municipal election is Nov. 8, 2016. Two City Council seats will be up for election, those held by Mayor Pro Tem Lorraine Wood and Council Member Keith Blackburn.

City Council members are responsible for setting policies and making decisions that shape the future of our city, our quality of life and our economy. Carlsbad is a charter city governed by a five-member City Council., serving "at large," meaning they represent the entire city, not a district of the city. Elected officials, including a Mayor, City Council Members, City Clerk and City Treasurer, serve staggered four year terms.

Fire Station 2 - Measure O

The Carlsbad City Council has placed Measure O on the Nov. 8, 2016, ballot seeking voter approval to spend more than $1 million of existing general fund money for the development or reconstruction of a new Fire Station 2, located in La Costa.

San Diego County Road Repair, Transit, Traffic Relief, Safety and Water Quality Measure

The San Diego Association of Governments has placed a measure on the Nov. 8, 2016, ballot asking voters whether they support increasing the local sales and use tax by one half-cent to fund specific highway, transit, open space, bike, and pedestrian projects throughout the community.