• Email
  • Print

City Departments

For general inquiries and requests, the City Manager’s Office is here to help.

City Manager's Office
Website
760-434-2820
help@carlsbadca.gov

Looking for something specific? Here’s a city organizational chart (click to enlarge) and below is an alphabetical list of city services, departments and divisions by branch.

Administrative Services

Laura Rocha, Deputy City Manager, Administrative Services 
Main: 760-602-2430 
Direct: 760-602-2415
laura.rocha@carlsbadca.gov

Finance

Website
Kevin Branca, Director
Main: 760-602-2430
finance@carlsbadca.gov
Direct: 760-602-2418
kevin.branca@carlsbadca.gov

Cheryl Gerhardt, Finance Manager
Main: 760-602-2495
finance@carlsbadca.gov
Direct: 760-602-2468
cheryl.gerhardt@carlsbadca.gov

Business Licenses

Website
Main:
760-602-2495

Human Resources

Website
Judy von Kalinowski, Director
Main: 760-602-2440
hr@carlsbadca.gov 
Direct: 760-473-4670
judy.vonkalinowski@carlsbadca.gov 

Information Technology

Maria Callander, Director
Main: 760-602-2450
Direct: 760-602-2454
maria.callander@carlsbadca.gov

Community Services

Gary Barberio, Deputy City Manager, Community Services
Direct: 760-434-2820
gary.barberio@carlsbadca.gov

City Clerk's Office

Website
Sheila Cobian, Clerk Services Manager
Main: 760-434-2808
clerk@carlsbadca.gov
Direct: 760-434-2917
sheila.cobian@carlsbadca.gov

Community & Economic Development

Mike Peterson, Assistant Director
Direct: 760-602-2721
mike.peterson@carlsbadca.gov

Building Inspections

Website
Main: 760-602-2700
bldginspections@carlsbadca.gov

Building Permits

Website
Main: 760-602-2719
building@carlsbadca.gov

Business/Economic Development

Website
Main: 760-602-2710
business@carlsbadca.gov

Code Enforcement

Website
Main: 760-602-2703
codeenforcement@carlsbadca.gov
codecompliance@carlsbadca.gov

Engineering

Main: 760-602-2750
landdev@carlsbadca.gov

Fire Prevention (permits)

Main: 760-602-4666
fireprevention@carlsbadca.gov

Housing

Website
Dave De Cordova, Principal Planner
Main: 760-434-2810
housing@carlsbadca.gov
Direct: 760-602-4604
david.decordova@carlsbadca.gov

Planning

Website
Don Neu, City Planner
Main: 760-602-4600
planning@carlsbadca.gov
Direct: 760-602-4601
don.neu@carlsbadca.gov

Short-Term Vacation Rental

Website
Kerry Jezisek, Senior Program Manager
Main: stvr@carlsbadca.gov
Direct: 760-434-2883
kerry.jezisek@carlsbadca.gov

Library & Cultural Arts

Heather Pizzuto, Director
Main: 760-602-2026
librarian@carlsbadca.gov
Direct: 760-602-2056
heather.pizzuto@carlsbadca.gov

Cultural Arts

Website
Richard L. Schultz, Cultural Arts Manager
Main: 760-434-2920
arts@carlsbadca.gov
Direct: 760-602-2086
richard.schultz@carlsbadca.gov

Parks & Recreation

Website
Kyle Lancaster, Director
Main: 760-434-2826
parksandrec@carlsbadca.gov
Direct: 760-434-2941
kyle.lancaster@carlsbadca.gov

Public Works Branch

Paz Gomez, Deputy City Manager, Public Works
Main: 760-602-2730
Direct: 760-602-2751
paz.gomez@carlsbadca.gov

Environmental Management

Website
James Wood, Environmental Manager
Direct: 760-602-7584
james.wood@carlsbadca.gov

General Services (streets, storm drain and facility maintenance)

John Maashoff, Public Works Manager

Direct: 760-434-2856
john.maashoff@carlsbadca.gov

Recycling & Trash

Website
Avecita Jones, Senior Program Manager
Main: 760-602-4646
recycle.trash@carlsbadca.gov
Direct: 760-602-7542
avecita.jones@carlsbadca.gov

Utilities

Vicki Quiram, Utilities Director
Direct: 760-438-2722 x7107
vicki.quiram@carlsbadca.gov

Sewer: 760-438-2722 (main)
760-931-2197 (after hours emergencies)
wastewater@carlsbadca.gov

Water: 760-602-2420 (billing)
760-438-2722 (main)

Transportation

Website
Babaq Taj, Interim Transportation Director
Main: transportation@carlsbadca.gov
Direct: 760-602-2766
Babaq.taj@carlsbadca.gov

Public Safety

Fire Department

Website
Michael Calderwood, Fire Chief
Main: firemail@carlsbadca.gov
Direct: 760-931-2141 
michael.calderwood@carlsbadca.gov

Emergency Operations

Website
David Harrison, Emergency Preparedness Manager
Main: 760-931-2197 (24 hour non emergency police line)
Direct: 760-931-2137
david.harrison@carlsbadca.gov

Police Department

Website
Neil Gallucci, Police Chief
Main: 760-931-2197
police@carlsbadca.gov
Direct: 760-931-2130
neil.gallucci@carlsbadca.gov

Policy & Leadership/City Hall

Website

Office of the City Attorney

Website
Celia Brewer, City Attorney
Main: 760-434-2891
attorney@carlsbadca.gov

Office of the City Manager

Website
Scott Chadwick, City Manager 
Main: 760-434-2820
manager@carlsbadca.gov
Direct: 760-434-2819
scott.chadwick@carlsbadca.gov

Elaine Lukey, Chief Operations Officer
Direct: 760-434-5990
elaine.lukey@carlsbadca.gov

David Graham, Chief Innovation Officer
Direct: 760-434-5992
david.graham@carlsbadca.gov

Community Outreach & Engagement

Website
Kristina Ray, Director
Main: 760-434-5352
communications@carlsbadca.gov
Direct: 760-434-2957
760-828-0509 (media on deadline)
kristina.ray@carlsbadca.gov